15 quartets for 15th Anniversary of NeoQuartet


15 quartets for 15th Anniversary of NeoQuartet is the project commemorating ensemble’s 15 years on contemporary classical music market and its capstone of so-far career. During 12 months of this year,15 female and male composers from around the world will compose their works dedicated to NeoQuartet. All the compositions will be premiered in number of NeoQuartet’s concerts in Poland and Europe. The grand finale of the entire project will be presented in Gdansk in December 2021 during three concerts. These events will familiarize Polish audience with 15 string-quartet compositions in their various forms written by composers from Poland, Germany, Slovakia, Iran, Norway, and Finland. Inextricable part of this project is an international young composers’ competition (composers under 35 years old) devoted to electro-acoustic string quartet composition.
Yet another inseparable part of the Anniversary project is a commission of string quartet composition for Gdansk composer – Anna Rocławska-Musiałczyk.

Details concerning International Composers’ Competition and its rules HERE


Concerts details:

Dec 9,2021 at 20:00 in Artists’ Colony
“NeoQuartet – electro-acoustically”

Nikodem Kluczyński (PL) – Phronesis for string quartet and electronics (2021) *
Magdalena Gorwa (PL)  – crushed quartet for prepared string quartet and electronics (2021) * 
Jakub Pawlak (PL) – UNO-FLATU for String Quartet & Stereo Tape (2021) *
Agnes Ida Pettersen (NO) – Rhei for string quartet and electronics (2021) 
Idin Samimi Mofakham (IR) – Crystallum for string quartet and electronics (2021) 
Martyna Kosecka (PL)  – Arkhe: Noise Maps for amplified string quartet, electronics and 3D mapping (2021), 3D mapping –  Aleksandra Ołdak

 * premiere

Dec 10, 2021 at 20:00 in Artists’ Colony
“NeoQuartet – electrically”

Mohammad H. Javaheri (IR)– A Colossal Blossom for electric string quartet (2021)
Tze Yeung Ho (NO) – vihik (i) for electric string quartet and loudspeakers (2021)
Laure M. Hiendl (DE) – String Quartet nr 2 for electric string quartet, electronics and video (2021)

Dec 12, 2021 at 19.00 in Old-Town City Hall
“NeoQuartet  – acoustically”

Peter Machajdik (SK) – Passing through nothing (2021) *
Hye-jeong Hwang (KR) – Spiritual dance (2021) *
Anna Rocławska (PL) –  You opened my eyes (2021) *
Yoori Kim (KR) – String Quartet nr 4 (2021) *
Magdalena Garbecka (PL) – Music nr 1 (2021) *
Jeong-yeon Lee (KR) – Tango-ish (2021) *

* premiere



Sponsors: Urząd Miejski w Gdańsku, Województwo Pomorskie, Stowarzyszenie Autorów ZAIKS, Daegu Cultural Foundation.

Skip to content